There are different qualifications to have your record sealed in Nevada depending on the circumstances of your criminal charges. Under Nevada law, you and your Las Vegas record sealing attorney can petition the court to have your records sealed for a:
- Category A felony ─ 10 years after completing your sentence (release from actual custody or discharge from parole or probation, whichever occurs later)
- Category B, C, or D felony ─ 5 years after completing your sentence
- Class E felony or any Gross Misdemeanor ─ 2 years after completing your sentence
- Misdemeanor DUI (Drugs or Alcohol) ─ 7 years from the date of release from actual custody or from the date when the person is no longer under a suspended sentence, whichever occurs later.
- Misdemeanor Battery Domestic Violence ─ 7 years from the date of release from actual custody or from the date when the person is no longer under a suspended sentence, whichever occurs later.
- Misdemeanor (Battery, Harassment, Stalking or Temporary/Extended Order of Protection) ─ 2 years from the date of release from actual custody or from the date when the person is no longer under a suspended sentence, whichever occurs later.
- Lesser Misdemeanor ─ 1 year from the date of release from actual custody or from the date when the person is no longer under a suspended sentence, whichever occurs later.
However, the distinction between felony classifications is not always clear. First-degree murder and other offenses that result in a death sentence or life imprisonment are considered Category A felonies. Robbery and assault with a deadly weapon are both Category B felonies, while unlawful possession of a controlled substance is a Class E felony.
At the time you request that your records be sealed, you must have completed all elements of your sentence and not face any new criminal charges (other than a minor traffic ticket). If you received a Dishonorable Discharge from probation, your records may not be sealed. You cannot seal records linked to a conviction for:
Our qualified record sealing and expungement attorney in Las Vegas can take a look at your case and provide you with the answers you need. If you want to know what is on your criminal history, whether it’s from a long time ago, or anything else about your public record, we can answer your questions promptly and establish the best post-conviction relief course of action for you. Many Clark County residents have minor, misdemeanor offenses on their records that continue to be an embarrassment and a problem for them to explain. Some individuals have worked hard to turn their lives around, only to be stopped by prospective employers and others bound by rules or prejudice who will not hire them once they learn of their criminal record. Take the next step today for a brighter future free of criminal charges.
It’s important to understand that there are different options when it comes to record sealing and expungement in Nevada. The quickest and simplest approach to figure out which alternatives are available to you is to contact our Las Vegas record sealing attorney to discuss your situation. Below are details on some of the services provided in Nevada.
Arrest warrants most commonly are issued by the return of a grand jury indictment or information. NRS 173.015
properly defines an indictment or information as the first pleading on the part of the State. NRS 173.025
provides that the several courts of this state shall have and may exercise the same power and jurisdiction to try and determine prosecutions upon information for crimes, misdemeanors and offenses, to issue writs and process and do all other acts therein as in cases of like prosecution under indictment.
Nevada law allows you to have your criminal record, convictions, and dropped cases sealed. An arrest that does not result in a conviction is eligible right away. Convictions must be earned after fulfilling the requirements set forth by the legislation. The waiting periods for felonies range from 2 years for minor misdemeanors to 15 years for Class A and B offenses.
Nevada’s sex offender registration requirements have changed considerably in recent years, as the state has updated its legislation to comply with new federal guidelines. However, the practical effects of these adjustments are still being figured out. There’s no need to be embarrassed or harassed if you’re not legally required to register or if you can ask the court to cancel your participation. Contact our Las Vegas record sealing attorney today to see what can be done to assist you clear your criminal record in Nevada. If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact us or chat with us online for a free, confidential consultation.
In Nevada, most juvenile records are automatically erased when a kid reaches the age of 21. This means you do not have to request the court to seal them; instead, they will take care of it on their own. However, although most records are sealed once juvenile turns 21, there are exceptions and may require additional legal muscle from a Las Vegas juvenile crime attorney. The following crimes are exceptions to this regulation:
When a minor is 21 years old, if one of these offenses is still on their record, things become more difficult. They’ll have to wait until they’re 30 to ask the juvenile court to seal it. And, if they’ve been convicted of any additional crimes since then, the court may not seal it. Speak with our criminal defense lawyer at Spartacus Law Firm today if you feel that you may be in this position.