Skip links
pharmacist charged with DUI

What Happens To Pharmacists Who Get A DUI?

Pharmacists Charged With DUI In Nevada

If you make the mistake of driving under the influence and get caught, law enforcement in Nevada will aggressively prosecute you. This is especially true for medical professionals like pharmacists, as their careers may be at stake. Those who have a medical license have spent years and thousands of dollars on their education. It is critical for these experts to protect their licenses. If a person is convicted of a DUI in Nevada, their driver’s and professional license may be stripped away from them. Don’t lose everything that you’ve worked so hard for, our Las Vegas pharmacist license defense attorney at Spartacus Criminal Defense Lawyers will fight for you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLgurlOBQt4

How Can A DUI Affect Your Pharmacy License?

You’d anticipate your pharmacy license to be suspended or revoked if you committed a crime at work — but why would your pharmacy license be in danger over something that occurred outside of the workplace? The Nevada Board of Pharmacy has an obligation to discipline any pharmacist who commits “unprofessional conduct.”  For example, unprofessional conduct can include:

  • Pending or past convictions for any alcohol or drug-related misdemeanor or felony.
  • Convictions for offenses “substantially related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of a licensee”

What makes an offense substantially related to a pharmacist’s profession? When it suggests that the pharmacist may be unfit to fulfill their duties in a “manner consistent with the public health, safety or welfare.” In other words, a DUI conviction raises the issue of whether you’re an alcoholic who can’t control your drinking or a delinquent who may take risks. The first may imply that you are drunk at work, while the second might suggest that you’re unpredictable and willing to break the rules if you believe you won’t get caught. Neither is a positive characteristic in a pharmacist and can result in your pharmacist license being suspended or revoked.

Penalties For First Time DUI In Nevada

Standard First DUI

For first-time DUI offenders, the punishment is either two days to six months in jail or 48 to 96 hours of community service while wearing a shirt that identifies them as someone convicted of DUI. The fine ranges from $400 to $1000. They are also required to pay for and attend an educational course on drug and alcohol abuse and install an IID on their car for 185 days before getting their license back.

First DUI With BAC Of .18% Or More

The above-mentioned penalties are more severe if a driver has a BAC of .18% or higher. If you fall into this category, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device for 12 to 36 months in addition to the standard first DUI penalties. You may also need to go to a drug and alcohol treatment program.

Felony DUI

If you’ve been convicted of a DUI that resulted in wrongful death or substantial bodily harm to another motorist or pedestrian, you could face extensive jail time. Nevada law states that someone convicted of a felony DUI could face anywhere between 2 to 20 years in prison and must pay a fine ranging from $2,000 to $5,000.

What Are The DUI/DUID Reporting Requirements?

It is in your best interests to notify the Nevada Board Of Pharmacy about a DUI or DUID. Failure to report an arrest for a DUI/DUID, as well as any conviction, may result in the loss of your pharmacy license. To comply with the reporting requirement, simply send a written statement to the enforcement division of the Board. You should report your arrest to the Board’s enforcement division as soon as possible, rather than waiting until your criminal matter has been adjudicated. It’s worth bearing in mind that employers and hospitals may have their own DUI/DUID reporting requirements on top of those imposed by the Board.

Failure to follow those guidelines can result in your employer taking disciplinary action, and he or she is more than likely to report this to the Board, who may open an inquiry on the basis of it. Make certain you are in conformity with your company’s reporting requirements. If you have any doubts about paperwork requirements, contact a qualified pharmacist license defense lawyer who deals with licensing boards frequently. We at Spartacus Criminal Defense Lawyers have the expertise you need to avoid the severe consequences of being charged with a crime. Our objective at Spartacus Criminal Defense Lawyers is for everything to be wrapped up favorably, with no disciplinary action taken against us.

Contact Our Las Vegas Pharmacist License Defense Attorney Today

An experienced, trustworthy, and aggressive Las Vegas pharmacy license defense lawyer is required if you are a pharmacist facing DUI or other criminal charges. Before the Nevada Board of Pharmacy, you will require representation for both the DUI or other criminal charges if you hope to retain your professional license. The Spartacus Criminal Defense Lawyers will fight to defend your rights and pharmacist license in court and before the Nevada Board of Pharmacy. For more information, call our office today for a consultation and to learn more about how we can help.

HOME
REVIEWS
RESULTS
(702) 660-1234